100 S Elm St, Suite 430, Greensboro, North Carolina 27401


North Carolina Lawyer Combats License Revocation Charges

Determined defense of your privilege to drive

Driving While License Revoked (DWLR) is a serious and frequently charged misdemeanor in North Carolina. If you are charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license in North Carolina, your driving record, your privilege to drive and your employment may all be at risk. The Law Offices of Ames Chamberlin, P.L.L.C. has defended individuals in Greensboro, High Point Guilford County, and surrounding areas from serious traffic crime consequences for more than 18 years. Let Ames Chamberlin help you get your license back and keep your driving record clean.

Understanding driving on a suspended license in North Carolina

A charge of driving on a suspended license falls under “Driving While License Revoked” (DWLR), although the law recognizes a difference between a license suspension, which is temporary, and a license revocation, which is permanent. Such a charge alleges that you operated a motor vehicle on a highway while your license was suspended or revoked, and the prosecution is also required to prove that you received constructive notice of that suspension.

Your license can be suspended for a number of reasons:

  • Too many moving violation points on your record
  • A DWI conviction
  • An earlier conviction for driving while your license is suspended
  • Driving without proof of insurance
  • Reckless driving
  • Drag racing
  • A fatal accident in which you were at fault
  • Failure to appear at court or at the Department of Motor Vehicles
  • Refusing a blood alcohol test following a DWI arrest
  • Failure to pay outstanding tickets
  • Failure to pay child support
  • Two speeding convictions within a year for exceeding 55 mph

Trusted Greensboro, North Carolina, traffic lawyer Ames Chamberlin is a board certified specialist in state and federal criminal law who has devoted his career to defending people charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license. The Law Offices of Ames Chamberlin examines your driving record and discusses the best strategies to get your driving privilege reinstated. If we cannot get your license wholly reinstated, we seek a limited driving privilege where possible.

Out-of-state suspensions in North Carolina

If you have an out-of-state license and commit an offense for which North Carolina would suspend or revoke a license, your home state license may not be suspended but the Department of Motor Vehicles can suspend or revoke your privilege to drive in North Carolina.

Driving without a license in North Carolina

North Carolina requires that all drivers be licensed and carry their valid driver license when they operate a motor vehicle. If you are charged with driving without a license because you left it at home or because it expired and you never renewed it, contact traffic attorney Ames Chamberlin to clear up this misdemeanor charge quickly.

Free consultation about restoring your privilege to drive in North Carolina

Contact The Law Offices of Ames Chamberlin, P.L.L.C., Greensboro’s criminal law specialist who vigorously fights for your driving privilege. You can reach us online or by telephone at 336-638-1117 to arrange a free consultation about getting your license back.


Contact Form

We will respond to your inquiry in a timely fashion. Thank you.

Quick Contact Form